Not a good day.

As I sit here this morning, I regret not listening to Emerson’s advice on knock out your blog post early in the week. In my mind though, I knew I had Thursday off and figured that would be a good time to catch up on some school work. Had I done this earlier in the week maybe I would have written on something more light and heart felt, but I only have one thing on my mind right now and I need to write about it.

It was about 7 pm last night when my wife called me and asked if I heard about anything happening to our friend who works with me. I will call him Larry just to protect his name. Not that any of you would know him, but also I can’t go into too many details because the nature of my job and the current situation. I told my wife I had not heard anything but I knew he was supposed to be flying tonight. If you all remember I am a Marine who works with helicopters currently. Anyways, I started texting and calling people to try and see what happened. I finally got the story of what happened and I was just at a loss of words. Without going into detail, I can tell you that he had an accident involving a helicopter while it was on the ground, he had to be taken to an intensive care unit right away and his status was not good. It was hard to try and tell my wife what had happened because I just could not believe it. Then I was up most of the night talking with friend trying to get updates on his status. Here it is 7 am and still no update. We all have to go into work at 9 am for a formation, after being in for 15 years, I know this formation is to officially get the word out to everyone on what happened. Hopefully we will get an update on the status of my friend. Hopefully it will be good news, but honestly I do not have a lot of hope right now.

I am hoping I have not lost another friend, a brother in arms. At the same time I have been wondering recently, how dangerous is my job compared to others that are not in the military. I have a brother who is a cop and a sister who is a teacher. For my brother and I, we at least know that we will have adherent risks in our job. As for my sister who teaches the 3rd grade, she did not start her job thinking that she would have a risk of being in danger while at work. That is where we are at in America today though, I feel like if I am not currently in a combat zone, that my sister the school teacher might have a more dangerous job. That just makes me sick, I know I have switched gears a lot, but that is where my mind wanders to when I think of the horrible accidents I have seen in my line of work.

I am sorry for the depressing post, hopefully I will be able to reply with some good news here in the near future.

9 thoughts on “Not a good day.

  1. Joel,
    I’m so sorry to hear about your friend! I can’t imagine what it must feel like for you right now. I agree, worrying about our teachers and kids is such a scary thing. We’re rooting for you, your friend and your family.

    Like

  2. I am sending my thoughts and prayers, thank you for your service and also to your friend. It takes a strong and selfless person to risk their own life for others. I hope you have received news on your friend and I pray it is good. I hope that you and your brother and sister stay safe and I send happiness and good vibes your way.

    Like

  3. Joel,

    I hope your friend has improved or is remaining in a stable condition. America is in a messed up situation with both police forces and schools. My girlfriend is currently student teaching and while I am proud and excited she is finishing; I am a little scared every day for her. I know she would give her life up for her students as would many armed forces members for their country. I hope your day is a bit brighter today than Thursday and hope for the best for your friend.

    Like

  4. Joel,

    I hope our fellow brother is stable and know that he is in my prayers. I’m trying to think about all the possible scenario’s with the bird still being on the ground and there sure is a lot to think about. I remember when we would have mishaps at the fixed wing squadrons, Navy would be there the very next day tearing into all of our maintenance programs. So hopefully it wasn’t anything to do regarding the maintainer side because that is a nightmare. I too compare jobs to ones I held previously in the Corps, always racking and stacking them to mine and often, like you put it, makes me sick. Ill be out in Camp Pendleton in the coming weekends visiting some old buddies I deployed with in 22 area. Maybe we could meet up and BS. Take care and Semper Fi.

    Like

  5. Joel,
    Sorry to hear man. Prayers for you your friends and your family. As a fellow brother in arms, know that we are here for you and your family. Whatever you need, whenever you need it reach out to someone. If it is not you that needs it, get those who do to someone. I’ll shoot you my number in a bblearn message. use if you want, or don’t as long as you have it. I lost 8 Airmen to suicide within a handful of months, and 3 to accidents from boats to planes, to motorcycles/vehicles. I just lost two Airmen to cancer both around my age. (35). I have been there, and from your post you have too. It catches up to you quick. Again, we are here. Didn’t expect this would be my response today, and I am sorry that two days have passed since I have gotten to post it….Semper Fi brother.

    Edited this, and wanted to share it with you (obviously not knowing your background)

    Oh, Lord, please keep our Marines tonight close by Your guiding hand of might.
    Give them the strength to carry on, when all is dark and hope is gone.
    Help them trust and have no fear, for You are watching ever near.
    Let them know they’re not alone; Your light will always lead them him home.
    They are rough and tough- no emotions show- but, God, they’re just boys, you know.
    They claim the title and wear it proud; says they’re the best and says it loud.
    And now one has come to guard Your heights, keep his family, friends, fellow Marines safe tonight

    Like

  6. Joel, thanks for sharing this. And never apologize for “depressing” posts–they are honest and authentic posts. I’m sitting here in awe of you and your classmates–at the things you are willing to share with each other and with me, at the meaningfulness and quality that you’re bringing to each other’s lives here. And I feel very, very luck to be here along the way.

    Like

Leave a comment